Staying Grounded: The Muladhara Chakra

written by Anjula November 5, 2018


As we fall back and prepare for the holidays of Diwali, (Hindu festival of lights) on November 7, 2018 here in North America and Thanksgiving later in the month,  several of my clients have asked me to share a few tips re: staying rooted and grounded.

With that in mind, let’s talk a bit about the root chakra today and how to balance it. Known as the “muladhara” chakra in Sanskrit, the root chakra is associated with the color red. The word Muladhara is a combination of two Sanskrit words, “Mula,” which means “root” and “Adhara,” which means “support” or “base.” It is the most instinctual of all chakras, as it is the very basis of our survival center — with our “fight-or-flight” response initiated here. Its Element is Earth. It is located at the base of our spine. Its primary theme is that of “survival” and the words, “to have.” When one focuses with intention on this chakra, we are focusing on the goals of: grounding, stability, prosperity & perfect physical health. In Jyotish Astrology, the planet associated with the muladhara chakra is Saturn. The gemstones associated with this chakra that can aid in balancing it out are: garnet, hematite and bloodstone. The bija mantra associated with the root charkra is: LAM.

A Good Daily Meditation to Balance Your Root Chakra:

Closing your eyes, take three deep cleansing breaths. Visualize the color red permeating your root chakra and the base of your spine. Envision yourself rooted to Mother Earth — the way a tree’s roots are grounded into the earth. Breathe deeply. (Inhale, exhale). Repeat the bija mantra, LAM using a mala. After repeating the mantra 108 times, affirm, “I am safe. I am secure. I have perfect health. I am loved. I am that I am.” Open your eyes slowly as you fill with gratitude.

Key Yoga Poses to Keep Your Root Chakra Happy:

  • Malasana (Garland) — Often used to lead into standing forward bend, garland pose strengthens the ankles and lower back to help activate the first chakra.
  • Uttanasana (Standing Forward Bend) — By stretching the legs and hips, uttanasana strengthens the knees and thighs — allowing for stable grounding and opening of the root chakra.
  • Janu Sirsasana (Head-to-Knee Forward Bend) — Benefiting the spine, hamstrings, and groin muscles, this pose stimulates kidney and liver function and increases energy flow through the first chakra.
  • Supta Baddha Konasana (Reclining Bound Angle) — As you stretch your inner thighs, knees, and groin muscle, reclining bound angle pose also stimulates organ function in the bladder, kidneys and reproductive organs which helps balance chakra energy.
  • Prasarita Padottanasana (Wide-Legged Forward Bend) — An asana similar to the standing forward bend, this pose helps stretch and strengthen the legs and spine, which helps open and activate the root chakra.
  • Virabhadrasana II (Warrior II) — This pose helps strengthen and stretch the legs and ankles, while also nurturing a strong core. Mastering this pose will increase your stamina which is key to maintaining a balanced first chakra.

Wishing you peace, love, perfect health and a very Happy Diwali!!

Have a specific Ayurvedic, Jyotish or Yogic topic you’d like me to cover on the Monkey? Send along your questions and suggestions to .



Support the Monkey

If you do any shopping at Amazon, please use the Amazon link below to help support Levitating Monkey.  Commissions from your purchases are crucial for us to continue to provide you with the content you love.

Supporting the Monkey costs you nothing – but it is dependent on using our Amazon links. To make it easy, we’e recommended some of our favorite Ayurvedic products in our articles and interviews. Check them out and you’ll help keep the lights on here at Levitating Monkey.

Thank you!

Click here to go directly to the
0 comment

You may also like

Leave a Comment