Lord Vishnu and His Ten Avatars

written by Anjula April 21, 2014

Known as the preserver, Vishnu is one of three supreme Hindu deities, along with Brahma and Shiva. Vishnu, whose name means “All-Pervading,” is the protector of the world and the restorer of moral order (dharma). He is peaceful, merciful, and compassionate. To Vaisnavites, Vishnu is the Supreme Lord.

Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva

Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva

Vishnu is often pictured with his consort, Lakshmi (also called Sri), and usually has four arms. Each hand holds an emblem of his divinity: the conch, discus, club, and lotus. A curl of hair on his chest signifies his immortality, and he wears the jewel Kaustubha around his neck. He is usually depicted with a dark complexion, as are his incarnations. Vishnu is often shown reclining or asleep as he awaits the next annihilation and renewal of the world.

Vishnu & Lakshmi

Vishnu & Lakshmi

Vishnu is best known through his ten avatars (incarnations), which appear on earth when there is disorder in the world. Rama and Krishna, whose stories are told in the Epics and the Puranas, are the most popular incarnations of Vishnu, by far. Vishnu’s most popular and well-known avatars were Rama and Krishna, the great heroes of the epics the Ramayana and Mahabharata. Rama, the seventh avatar, saved humans from the demon king Ravana, while Krishna rid the world of many demons and took part in a long struggle against the forces of evil. The ninth avatar of Vishnu was the Buddha, the religious leader whose beliefs weakened the opponents of the gods and who founded the Buddhist faith.

Vishnu’s tenth avatar, Kalki, has not yet arrived on earth. According to Hinduism, Kalki will come one day, mounted on a white horse, to oversee the final destruction of the wicked, restore purity, renew creation, and bring forth a new era of harmony and order.

Lord Vishnu's Avatars

Vishnu’s Avatars

The ten incarnations of Vishnu are:

1. Matsya (fish)

2. Kurma (turtle)

3. Varaha (boar)

4. Narasimha (man-lion)

5. Vamana (dwarf)

6. Parashurama (warrior-priest)

7. Rama (prince)

8. Krishna (cow-herd)

9. Buddha (sage)

10. Kalki (horseman, who has not yet appeared)

A beautiful mantra in honor of Lord Vishnu is, Om Namo Narayanaya. This Mantra is said to open one up to the gateway of moksha.

Interested in learning more about Lord Vishnu, check out this additional resource:

Dashavatar Tales for Children (Illustrated): The 10 Avatars of Lord Vishnu by  Vyanst 



Support the Monkey

If you do any shopping at Amazon, please use the Amazon link below to help support Levitating Monkey.  Commissions from your purchases are crucial for us to continue to provide you with the content you love.

Supporting the Monkey costs you nothing – but it is dependent on using our Amazon links. To make it easy, we’e recommended some of our favorite Ayurvedic products in our articles and interviews. Check them out and you’ll help keep the lights on here at Levitating Monkey.

Thank you!

Click here to go directly to the
Lord Vishnu and His Ten Avatars
Article Name
Lord Vishnu and His Ten Avatars
Lord Vishnu is one of three supreme Hindu deities. Peaceful, merciful, and compassionate, he is the protector of the world and the restorer of moral order.
1 comment

You may also like

1 comment

Lakshmi, the Goddess of Wealth and Prosperity, both material and spiritual | Levitating Monkey June 12, 2014 at 6:09 pm

[…] Hindu mythology, Goddess Lakshmi is the consort of Lord Vishnu and provides Him with wealth for the maintenance and preservation of Creation. A true testament […]

Leave a Comment